skip to Main Content

Taiwan – The parade of the gods

Once a year, Taiwanese tradition wants the gods to be brought out of their temples to parade in the city. The parade of the gods is an opportunity for the community to gather, celebrate together and perpetuate the traditions, even if it means dusting them off a bit. T he light is red, we are stopped on our scooter. It is hot and humid. So much so that we rather dream of being at the edge of a waterfall with refreshing water, higher in the Taiwanese mountain. Not a breeze reaches us. The atmosphere is heavy, heavy. Just waiting at the traffic light makes you sweat a lot. In front, behind, on all sides, the roar of the engines and the exhaust fumes do not help. When the light turns green, hundreds of roars synchronize in a deafening roar for…

Portfolio - Contemplation au Rinjani

Indonesia – Mount Rinjani

Located on the island of Lombok, Mount Rinjani is the second highest volcano in Indonesia. A wonderful but very difficult three-day trek is required to climb the summit, but offers unique scenery and an unforgettable adventure. T he phone's alarm clock rings and the screen illuminates the tent with a whitish light. Strident beeps resound strongly. Still half asleep, we start to get up slowly. It is 3:30 am, we are still tired from the day before and our legs are heavy. By leaving the tent, we see nothing. It is dark, the sun is not yet up. Only the majestic celestial vault is illuminated above us, like a tapestry of stars and galaxies painted on the ceiling. Far from any human activity and light pollution, it is only obstructed by the curtains of white clouds that pass over us.…

Taiwan - Jancing

Taiwan – Walk in Jancing

In the highlands of Taipingshan Mountain in northeastern Taiwan - near Yilan, the historic Jancing Trail is best known for its ancient railway ruins. The result of a long history of deforestation, the Jancing Trail used to connect the Taipingshan peaks with the nearest town for the transport of timber. A fresh mountain breeze is felt. Up there, it can't be more than 24 degrees. All around us, a whitish mass keeps stirring in all directions, bringing a few strands of coolness. At times it seeps through the trees, whistling through the leaves. The humidity is even more noticeable here, even if it is mistaken for a light rain. The clouds have descended from the sky to greet us at the entrance to the historic Jancing trail. At times we can only see about ten metres in front of us.…

Taiwan – Voyage à Wulin

Taiwan – Travel to Wulin

From the Pacific coast to the peaks up to Wulin, Route 8 (and 14) is a pleasure to discover the beauty of Taiwan's mountains. It is 190km long and is best known as the entrance to the famous Taroko Gorge. H ualien region, at the gateway to the Pacific Ocean. The endless cliffs fall steeply into the turquoise blue waters of the ocean. It is already hot and humid on this beautiful morning. The air is heavy, humid and the sun is raising the temperature rapidly above thirty degrees. From time to time, a small breeze from the ocean brings back a little coolness. In front of us is a small queue. Holidaymakers eager to have their picture taken in front of the iconic Chinese gate announcing the entrance to the Taroko Gorge. In a style that is almost identical…

China – Clichés of Hong Kong

Hong Kong was the former jewel in the British crown and the gateway to the vast empire of China. Originally a simple fishing port on the eastern bank of the Pearl River, the city nicknamed the "Perfume Port" is today a city with a subtle blend of British and Chinese culture. S kyscrapers are everywhere, wherever you look. You have to look up to the sky to leave the metal forest and find a patch of bluish color. Only a few rays of sunlight reach the streets below from the canopy, bouncing off the endless glass surfaces. Only around noon does the sun directly reach the darkest parts of the city. In some streets, small shops are lined up next to each other in an infinite mosaic of colors and advertising signs. An anarchy interspersed with huge boulevards where the…

Japon - Au sommet d'Osaka

Japan – At the top of Osaka

The Umeda Tower in Osaka is a major attraction in Japan's third largest city. Rising up from the floor of the cows allows you to appreciate this gargantuan city, which stretches to the horizon. T he end of the day approaches. The perfect blue of the sky gradually gives way to a golden light that accentuates the warm colours of autumn even more. Since the beginning of this stay in Japan, the weather has been splendid with mild temperatures. And Osaka is no exception to this rule, for our pleasure. We all agree that autumn seems to be an ideal time to travel in Japan. The weather is, of course, the main attraction of this season. It is neither too cold nor too hot at this time of the year. Autumn is also a good time to attend many festivals…

Slider - Le festival du feu de Kuruma

Japan – Kurama fire festival

The Kurama Fire Festival is probably one of the most important events in the Kyoto area. In early autumn, Kurama lights up with a thousand lights during this festival, which combines folklore, tradition and rites of passage. The wagons shake in fits and starts. The train continues on its way through the forest, illuminated by the rare rays of sunlight breaking through the clouds. The wind sweeps timidly through the tree tops. Some of them are beginning to dress for winter with carmine and amaranth red dyes. The sky is threatening and gives the sacred mountain of Kurama a striking contrast with the forest. The sight is soothing. The forest is a place of reverie, as in Miyasaki's famous films, and the tremors of the train are like a lullaby. It doesn't take long to get lost in your own dreams.…

Japon – Osaka entre deux Shinkansen

Japan – Osaka between two Shinkansen

A short visit to Osaka, Japan's second city. Stuck in the middle of the archipelago and often neglected in comparison with the cultural capital of Japan, Kyoto, Osaka has other assets, not the least of which is its reputation for having the best cuisine in Japan. A  whistle is heard. The security gates flash red and an alarm sounds. From the loudspeakers, a female voice intones an incomprehensible message. The hissing becomes a buzzing sound, then a dull roar. All around us, people rush through the security gates, goods lined up one behind the other and luggage in hand. The red lights continue to flash. The next moment, two points of light appear at the end of the platform, hiding a strange shape - long and elongated - in the darkness. As we reach our level, the singular and astonishing…

Suisse - Le plateau à la Jungfraujoch

Switzerland – At the top of Europe on the Jungfraujoch

The snow-covered peaks of the Jungfraujoch are one of the favourite attractions for tourists visiting Switzerland. Snow, wind, sun and mountains all combine to make this an unforgettable adventure. I t is cold. As soon as we step outside, the icy air starts to make itself felt. The wind rushes through every little opening in your clothes until it freezes your soul. A badly put on T-shirt is not forgivable. A few more minutes are enough to numb the fingers, which must be constantly warmed up by frantically clapping. Even the jeans start to stiffen under the gusts of wind and a thin white film forms on all the clothes. There is no escape up there. The gusts of wind blow the snow away until it completely covers the surrounding peaks. It's like being in the middle of a snowstorm.…

Portfolio - Le parlement Hongrois

Hungary – Budapest: Pest from Buda

From the top of the Citadel, the two ancient cities of Buda and Pest join to form the capital of Hungary: Budapest. The crossroads of Central Europe, the heart of the country lies with the inhabitants of its capital. T he cars are in perfect alignment. One after the other, they move forward and stop continuously, always at the same imperturbable rhythm. In their wake, they leave a stream of light that runs along the entire length of the Erzsébet Bridge and rushes into the city, following the main arteries. The repetition of the movement gives a hypnotic effect and we could stay here for hours watching the heartbeat of the city of Budapest, its pulse. It is like entering the soul of a city, secretly, and being able to see the lives of the people there without them being…

Back To Top
Search

skip to Main Content

Taiwan – La parade des dieux

Une fois par an, la tradition taiwanaise veut que les dieux soient sortis de leurs temples pour parader dans la ville. La parade des dieux est une occasion pour la communauté de se rassembler, fêter ensemble et de perpétrer les traditions, quitte à les dépoussiérer un peu au passage. L e feu est rouge, nous sommes à l’arrêt sur notre scooter. Il fait chaud et humide. À tel point que nous rêvons plutôt d’être au bord d’une cascade à l’eau rafraichissante, plus haut dans la montagne taiwanaise. Pas une brise d’air n’arrive jusqu’à nous. L’atmosphère est lourde, pesante. Juste le fait d’attendre au feu rouge fait suer à pleines gouttes. Devant, derrière, de tous les côtés, le vrombissement des moteurs et les gaz d’échappement n’aident pas. Lorsque le feu passe au vert, des centaines de rugissements se synchronisent dans un…

Portfolio - Contemplation au Rinjani

Indonésie – Le mont Rinjani

Situé sur l’île de Lombok, le mont Rinjani est le second plus haut volcan d’Indonésie. Un merveilleux mais très difficile trek de trois jours est nécessaire pour l’ascension du sommet, mais offre des paysages uniques et une aventure inoubliable. L e réveil du téléphone sonne et l’écran illumine la tente d’une lumière blanchâtre. Des bips stridents résonnent fortement. Encore à demi endormis, nous commençons à nous lever doucement. Il est 3h30 du matin, nous sommes encore fatigués de la veille et nos jambes sont lourdes. En sortant de la tente, nous ne voyons rien. Il fait nuit noire, le soleil n’est pas encore levé. Seule la majestueuse voute céleste est illuminée au-dessus de nous, comme une tapisserie d’étoiles et de galaxies peinte au plafond. Loin de toute activité humaine et de pollution lumineuse, celle-ci n’est obstruée que par les rideaux…

Taiwan - Jancing

Taiwan – Promenade à Jancing

Dans les hauteurs de la montagne de Taipingshan, au nord-est de Taiwan – près d’Yilan, le sentier historique de Jancing est surtout connu pour ses anciennes ruines de chemin de fer. Issue d’un lourd passé de déforestation, le sentier de Jancing faisait la jonction entre les sommets de Taipingshan et la ville la plus proche pour le transport de bois. U ne petite brise fraîche de montagne se fait sentir. Là-haut, il ne doit pas faire plus que 24°. Tout autour de nous, une masse blanchâtre ne cesse de se remuer dans tous les sens, apportant quelques petits brins de fraîcheur. Par moment, elle s’infiltre entre les arbres, sifflant dans les feuilles des arbres. L’humidité quant à elle se fait encore plus ressentir ici, quitte à être confondue avec une pluie fine. Les nuages sont descendus du ciel pour nous…

Taiwan – Voyage à Wulin

Taiwan – Voyage à Wulin

De la côte pacifique aux sommets jusqu’à Wulin, la route n°8 (et 14) est un plaisir pour découvrir toute la beauté des montagnes de Taiwan. Longue de 190kms, elle est surtout connue pour être le point d’entrée des célèbres gorges de Taroko. R égion de Hualien, aux portes de l’océan Pacifique. Les falaises interminables tombent à pic dans les eaux bleu turquoise de l’océan. Il fait déjà chaud et humide en cette belle matinée. Un air lourd, humide et surtout le soleil qui fait monter la température rapidement au-dessus des trente degrés. De temps à autre, une petite brise venue de l’océan ramène un peu de fraicheur. Devant nous se trouve une petite file d’attente. Des vacanciers impatients de se prendre en photo devant l’iconique porte chinoise annonçant l’entrée des gorges de Taroko. Dans un style à s’y méprendre avec…

Chine – Clichés de Hong-Kong

Hong-Kong était l’ancien joyau de la couronne britannique et la porte d’entrée de l’immense empire de Chine. Au départ un simple petit port de pêche sur la rive orientale de la rivière des Perles, la ville surnommée le « port aux parfums » est aujourd’hui une ville aux mélanges subtils entre la culture britannique et chinoise. L es gratte-ciels sont partout, où que l’on pose le regard. Il faut lever la tête au ciel pour pouvoir quitter la forêt de métal et trouver une parcelle de couleur bleutée. Seuls quelques rayons de soleil parviennent de la canopée jusqu’aux rues en contrebas en rebondissant sur les surfaces infinies en verre. Il n’y a qu’aux alentours de midi que le soleil arrive directement à éclairer les endroits les plus sombres de la ville. Dans certaines rues, les petites échoppes sont alignées les unes à…

Japon - Au sommet d'Osaka

Japon – Au sommet d’Osaka

La tour Umeda à Osaka est une attraction majeure dans la troisième ville du Japon. S’élever du plancher des vaches permet d’apprécier cette ville gargantuesque, qui s’étend jusqu’à l’horizon. L a fin de journée approche. Le bleu parfait du ciel laisse place petit à petit à une lumière dorée qui accentue encore plus les couleurs chaudes de l’automne. Depuis le début de ce séjour au Japon, il fait un temps splendide avec des températures clémentes. Et Osaka ne déroge pas à cette règle, pour notre plaisir à tous. Nous sommes unanimes, l’automne semble être une période idéale pour voyager au Japon. La météo est bien sûr le premier atout de cette saison. Il ne fait ni trop froid, ni trop chaud en cette période de l’année. L’automne est aussi propice pour assister à de nombreux festivals au Japon, comme c’est…

Slider - Le festival du feu de Kuruma

Japon – Le festival du feu de Kurama

Le festival du feu de Kurama est sans doute l'un des évènements les plus importants de la région de Kyoto. Au début de l’automne, Kurama s’illumine de mille feux lors de ce festival, qui mêle folklore, tradition et rite de passage. Les wagons tremblent par à-coup. Le train poursuit sa route à travers la forêt illuminée par les rares rayons de soleil traversant les nuages. Le vent balaye timidement la cime des arbres. Certains commencent à se parer pour l’hiver avec des teintures aux rouges carmin et amarante. Le ciel est menaçant et donne à la montagne sacrée de Kurama un contraste saisissant avec la forêt. Le spectacle est apaisant. La forêt est un lieu de rêverie, comme dans les célèbres films de Miyasaki et les tremblements du train sont comme une berceuse. Il ne faudra pas longtemps pour se perdre…

Japon – Osaka entre deux Shinkansen

Japon – Osaka entre deux Shinkansen

Un court passage par Osaka, la deuxième ville du Japon. Coincée au milieu de l’archipel et souvent délaissée face à la capitale culturelle du Japon qu’est Kyoto, Osaka possède pourtant d’autres atouts, et pas des moindres : la ville est réputée pour avoir la meilleure cuisine du Japon. Un sifflement se fait entendre. Les portiques de sécurités clignotent de rouge et une alarme retentit. Dans les haut-parleurs, une voix féminine entonne un message incompréhensible. Le sifflement se fait bourdonnement, puis se mue en un grondement sourd. Tout autour de nous, les personnes se précipitent aux portiques de sécurité, biens alignés les uns derrière les autres et bagages en main. Les lumières rouges continuent de clignoter. L’instant d’après, deux points lumineux apparaissent au bout du quai cachant une forme étrange - longue et allongée - dans la pénombre. Arrivées à notre niveau,…

Portfolio - Le parlement Hongrois

Hongrie – Budapest: Pest vu de Buda en image

Du haut de la Citadella, les deux anciennes villes de Buda et Pest se rejoignent pour donner naissance à la capitale de la Hongrie : Budapest. Carrefour de l’Europe centrale, le cœur du pays bas avec les habitants de sa capitale. Les voitures sont dans un alignement parfait. Les unes après les autres, elles avancent et s’arrêtent continuellement, toujours au même rythme imperturbable. Elles laissent dans leurs sillages un filet de lumière qui court sur tout le long du pont Erzsébet et s’engouffre dans la ville, en suivant les artères principales. La répétition du mouvement donne un effet hypnotique et nous pourrions rester ici des heures à regarder battre le cœur de la ville de Budapest , son pouls. C’est comme pénétrer dans l’âme d’une ville, secrètement, et de pouvoir y voir la vie des gens s’y dérouler sans qu’ils…

Japon - le Dôme de Genbaku à Hiroshima

Japon – Hiroshima, un voyage au cœur de l’histoire

Hiroshima est tristement célèbre pour avoir été la première ville à subir les effets de l'arme nucléaire à la fin de la seconde guerre mondiale. Pourtant, malgré certaines cicatrices toujours présente, la ville d’aujourd’hui est devenue une ville moderne, tranquille et surtout un havre de paix pour ses habitants. Un ciel sans nuage. Des ombres profondes contrastant avec les reflets du soleil sur les feuillages de mon jardin. Voilà ce que je contemplais, ce jour-là, tôt dans la matinée. Je suis allongé sur la terrasse du living-room, en pantalon et en maillot de corps ; j'ai veillé toute la nuit à l'hôpital. Soudain, il y a un éclair, puis un autre, et je me souviens - on se souvient toujours des choses idiotes - que je me demande sur le moment si ce sont des éclairs de lampes à magnésium…

Back To Top
Rechercher